Distant

Everyone I know is telling me that it can’t work, but we have to try, right? Our interests are sending us to different colleges, and we will only be able to see each other on the weekends (if that) but we can totally make the long-distance relationship work.

We have technically been dating since we were fifteen, but in reality, we’ve been together pretty much since birth. Our parents have been friends for years, and we became friends while we were still in diapers. We have been there for each other through all of the ups and downs, and we have no secrets. He is my best friend.

We technically dated several times growing up, but they were all just saying it, not actually doing anything with it. It wasn’t until we got to high school that things really started to change. I had known that I’d loved him for years, but things slowly started to turn into a romantic love as opposed to the friend love that it had been for so long. I guess he felt the same way because he asked me to the homecoming dance, gave me a kiss on the cheek when he dropped me off, and things just went from there.

And now we are going to be further apart than we ever have been before. It’s both exciting and terrifying at the same time. I am excited to experience this new independence and everything that college has to offer, but I can’t help but wonder what’s going to happen to our relationship. Will one of us meet someone else? Get sick of the traveling and call it quits? Will we just slowly stop talking as much and grow into distant strangers? Or will we meet up again at the end of it all and do the house and kids like we have planned?

I guess only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

